Stuck in shutdown mode???

LS2008

New member
Joined
Dec 11, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Location
WI
Grill
Smokefire EX4 (2nd Gen)
Bought EX4 and had four great flawless cooks.
Tonight after a great cook that went well. Then did shutdown mode and an hour later it still said “in shutdown”. I finally unplugged it.
What went wrong??
 

bbqking

Well-known member
2x SOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 2, 2020
Messages
711
Reaction score
1,133
Points
93
Location
Phoenix,Az
Grill
EX6, 2, 22” kettles, and a e310 gasser
Gremlins? Not sure about that one. I’ve never heard of that happening.
 

NoCoEX6

Member
Joined
Sep 17, 2020
Messages
17
Reaction score
29
Points
13
Location
Colorado
Grill
SmokeFireEX6
Happened to me a couple of nights ago. Wonder if it's the latest software update. I also had a tough time maintaining temperature. Like my Smokefire but they really need to nail the software settings and leave it alone.
 

Bruno

Well-known member
2x SOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
1,032
Reaction score
1,861
Points
113
Location
Bay Area
Happened to me a couple of nights ago. Wonder if it's the latest software update. I also had a tough time maintaining temperature. Like my Smokefire but they really need to nail the software settings and leave it alone.
Yea they do!! We should be able to decide which updated we want. Mine is working flawlessly now for a while. I no longer get excited when I see an update.
 

AHoneyman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
442
Reaction score
614
Points
93
Location
Dallas
Yea they do!! We should be able to decide which updated we want.
I totally disagree. CS would really go nuts trying to figure out what is happening with multiple versions of the app, OS, and firmware in different combinations. Do I like the latest stuff? Oh, hell, no.
 
OP
L

LS2008

New member
Joined
Dec 11, 2020
Messages
9
Reaction score
4
Points
3
Location
WI
Grill
Smokefire EX4 (2nd Gen)
My EX4 was all updated two cooks earlier.
I do agree that any updates that become available I should be able to dictate when I install them.
Hoping Weber can let us know what to do when it will not shutdown.
 

JpsBBQ

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
807
Reaction score
1,378
Points
93
Location
United States
All the brands (3-5) I have had experience using push the update to you regardless of your wishes. I have not seen an exception to this in the industry. Once you satisfy the required connections, they launch it and you find out when its updating. Usually as you start a cook, obviously.
 

MojoBones

Member
Joined
Jul 1, 2020
Messages
65
Reaction score
92
Points
18
Location
Chicago
Grill
SmokeFire EX6 (Slow-n-Low) / WPPO Lil Luigi (Pizza) / Summit S-670 (Everything Else)
I agree with AHoneyman about the CS issues involved and once Weber does nail down the algorithms being used for the controller, the temp. control should become much more static as far as updates go. Perhaps the recent changes and subsequent issues stemming from them were also part of why June was bought out, for better control of the software development processes, QA, and testing. It is much more difficult to control a firm your working with on a product than your own in house staff especially when it combines hardware and software.
 

Latest Discussions

Top