Struggling to reach temp

bbqking

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 2, 2020
Messages
425
Reaction score
688
Points
93
Location
Phoenix,Az
So I set my smoke fire to go to 450. It took it awhile to get there, but once there it stayed, put the wings on and opened to flip them. It dropped down to 260. Flipped closed lid, 30 minutes later it was at 390...dropping to 380-390 back and forth. Cranked her up to 500, and she started climbing again.
 

Captainmike

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
125
Reaction score
268
Points
63
Location
Texas
Hmm that’s odd, sounds like an issue I had before replacing the chute and new firmware update.
 
OP
bbqking

bbqking

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 2, 2020
Messages
425
Reaction score
688
Points
93
Location
Phoenix,Az
Well I’m thinking it might be the Weber pellets, never had any issues at all with other pellets, as soon as the Weber pellets started feeding through, issues.
 

Captainmike

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
125
Reaction score
268
Points
63
Location
Texas
Might have been the difference in pellet causing the PID control to need to adjust. If your pellets before the Weber burn hotter it will set the feed rate slower than the Weber. Then as the weber pellets start feeding through it will have to take time to readjust it’s feedrate to match a cooler burn rate (feed more pellets).
 

Captainmike

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
125
Reaction score
268
Points
63
Location
Texas
I’ve noticed that I’d really tends tends to undershoot in the 200-300 degree range when using a separate ambient probe. However my cook results come out good if I just go by the Smokefire temp. I tried compensating by increasing temps before and overcooked a meal.

Once over 300 and the fan kicks into higher speed it’s just about spot on.
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
463
Reaction score
592
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
I’ve noticed that I’d really tends tends to undershoot in the 200-300 degree range when using a separate ambient probe. However my cook results come out good if I just go by the Smokefire temp. I tried compensating by increasing temps before and overcooked a meal.

Once over 300 and the fan kicks into higher speed it’s just about spot on.
I, on the other hand, find that my separate ambient probe tends to track the SF temp probe fairly well, although it alway lags the display temp during temperature changes.

Given the nature of using solid fuel (pellets) and the time offset it takes from feed to combustion at lower temperatures, I tend not to worry very much as long as they stay within 20 degrees or so of one another when smoking.
 

JimG

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2020
Messages
29
Reaction score
36
Points
13
Location
MN
Next time, try turning off your phone app and monitor temp levels at the controller. I've also used my igrill for checking temp.
 

Captainmike

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 28, 2020
Messages
125
Reaction score
268
Points
63
Location
Texas
I, on the other hand, find that my separate ambient probe tends to track the SF temp probe fairly well, although it alway lags the display temp during temperature changes.

Given the nature of using solid fuel (pellets) and the time offset it takes from feed to combustion at lower temperatures, I tend not to worry very much as long as they stay within 20 degrees or so of one another when smoking.
And I agree generally mine has been in the 20 degree range. I worried about it previously but since do not, and just trust the controller now and do not use the additional ambient. Been a lot better for my OCD nature when it comes to these things 😊
 

AHoneyman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
273
Reaction score
374
Points
63
Location
Dallas
Guys, I just noticed that they snuck a firmware update in sometime. I am at 4042 and I have been having temp increase problems. Version 4035 worked better for me, I believe. Take a look and see what version that you have now. The Weber web site says the most current is 4035. There is a disconnect somewhere.
 

AHoneyman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
273
Reaction score
374
Points
63
Location
Dallas
I also got a Weber air probe. I am doing some smoky hot pretzels today at 200 (no SmokeBoost). It took 45 minutes to stabile at 200. During that time, it never went over 200, which is good to prevent burnt meat. Just watchin'. And drinkin'. No thinkin'.
 

abmet

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
836
Reaction score
801
Points
93
Location
Missouri
Guys, I just noticed that they snuck a firmware update in sometime. I am at 4042 and I have been having temp increase problems. Version 4035 worked better for me, I believe. Take a look and see what version that you have now. The Weber web site says the most current is 4035. There is a disconnect somewhere.
Interesting I’ll check mine tomorrow. Raining today or I’d go plug it in and see.
 

AHoneyman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
273
Reaction score
374
Points
63
Location
Dallas
It is a rock at 200. Generally, plus or minus 5 degrees. That is closer that my cookin'.
 

wjg

New member
Joined
Sep 11, 2020
Messages
10
Reaction score
5
Points
3
Location
NY
This is my second ex 4 (returned the first one). Last weekend in the middle of the 6 hour cook, my temperature dropped and kept going down. I shut down the unit and restarted it. The temperature reached the set 250 but 20 minutes later dropped to 170. Today I took the auger and chute assy out. My EX 4 has the newer black 1 piece chute and rev f. Any suggestions on what to do next? Has anyone else had a failure with the new "fixes". Yes, Im using Weber pellets and yes the software is current.
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
463
Reaction score
592
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Guys, I just noticed that they snuck a firmware update in sometime. I am at 4042 and I have been having temp increase problems. Version 4035 worked better for me, I believe. Take a look and see what version that you have now. The Weber web site says the most current is 4035. There is a disconnect somewhere.
Will check tomorrow when I get home.
 

AHoneyman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
273
Reaction score
374
Points
63
Location
Dallas
Here are some photos. First, immediately after the SF said I had reached temp. It was another 45 minutes to get there. Second, this was within two minutes after I moved from 200 to 250. The SF said I was there. Third, two hours later, it had not reached 250 yet but had consistently said it was already there. It has moved 22 degrees. This is a problem, folks.

IMG_2152.jpgIMG_2153.jpgIMG_2155.jpg
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
463
Reaction score
592
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Here are some photos. First, immediately after the SF said I had reached temp. It was another 45 minutes to get there. Second, this was within two minutes after I moved from 200 to 250. The SF said I was there. Third, two hours later, it had not reached 250 yet but had consistently said it was already there. It has moved 22 degrees. This is a problem, folks.

View attachment 1802View attachment 1803View attachment 1804
Ouch...not good. Assuming that the permanent probe in the unit is clean and not “gunked” up, and pellet feed is not interrupted, I agree. Possibly either: the permanent grill probe is bad, firmware is corrupted, or a bad controller.
 

abmet

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
836
Reaction score
801
Points
93
Location
Missouri
Mine is still 4035. I even left my phone out there for 20 minutes and shutdown couple times and no update. I haven’t used mine this week since has been raining.
 

AHoneyman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
273
Reaction score
374
Points
63
Location
Dallas
Ouch...not good. Assuming that the permanent probe in the unit is clean and not “gunked” up, and pellet feed is not interrupted, I agree. Possibly either: the permanent grill probe is bad, firmware is corrupted, or a bad controller.
I wanted to check the possibility of a hardware issue like Dassman5 mentioned. I did a run today to 450 (done mowing the lawn and bored). At the start (80 degrees) and up to 400, the SF controller and the air temp probe were within 10 degrees of each other. At 400 degrees, the SF controller moved up to 450 quickly and said that I was at temp. The air probe was still at the 400-402 range. This occurred within 18 minutes from the start. Obviously, the unit can heat up. I am now 45 minutes into the heat up and the SF controller is a rock at 450. The air probe is bouncing around 420. I am shutting down to save pellets for a brisket tonight. It seems to me that the firmware has over compensated for overshoots of temperature and now struggles to get to the final desired temp. This will effect cook times for short sears and the like. Just my opinion.
 

Latest Discussions

Top