SmokeFire thermometer and probe accuracy

AHoneyman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
283
Reaction score
385
Points
63
Location
Dallas
Guys, I am just wondering how close your SF thermometer and probes are to other temperature measuring devices. I am not complaining, just wondering where everyone is. At times, I think I have a probe that is a little off based upon the degree of cook on steaks. I just got an external unit to check. Still learning how to run the SF.
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
466
Reaction score
595
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Guys, I am just wondering how close your SF thermometer and probes are to other temperature measuring devices. I am not complaining, just wondering where everyone is. At times, I think I have a probe that is a little off based upon the degree of cook on steaks. I just got an external unit to check. Still learning how to run the SF.
I purchased another grill temp probe from a local store that had one on sale and installed in Probe 4 slot to keep an eye on the actual grill temperature. It compares favorably with the supplied ambient temp probe except when heating up and cooling down. Plus it can easily be repositioned to monitor the upper grill temperature.

I also have a Maverick set, and use those probes to augment the other i-probes for monitoring large cuts and multiples of meat. Overall the are close enough for smoking and other routine cooks.

However, I also have an instant read infrared heat gun as well as a Thermapen mk4 and 2 Javelin Pro pens for critical temperatures like steaks, etc. Especially when smoking larger cuts like pork butts and whole briskets, most depend on touch, feel and probing for doneness.
 

abmet

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
838
Reaction score
804
Points
93
Location
Missouri
My probes in meat have been fairly close to what my Thermapen shows so they are accurate enough for me to monitor especially longer cooks. For shorter cooks I generally just use my Thermapen. I‘ve run other probes to monitor ambient temps and my experience is similar to what Dassman5 said. I think they have some logic that “stabilizes” the reported temp of the built in ambient probe so it’s not showing some of the fluctuations but when stable was always pretty close to the other ambient probe I was using (though can’t say it’s as accurate as a Maverick). I don’t use it anymore just early on to get an idea of how the SmokeFire built in probe was compared to it.
 

JpsBBQ

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
519
Reaction score
898
Points
93
Location
United States
Yeah, I have. A two degree difference between two probes I have for the SF. I ALWAYS use a Thermapen for any crucial or precise temperature measurements. The probes are to get you close. Even poultry and such, you should always confirm in multiple locations with a high quality thermocouple.
 

Bruno

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
733
Reaction score
1,296
Points
93
Location
Bay Area
I use the thermoworks smoke just to keep an eye on things, the probes are close but their is a difference. My EX6 never matches the smokes ambient temptprobe. +-20 degrees easy.
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
466
Reaction score
595
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Aa for a thermapen, how the hell did I cook without one?
I remember the days when every chef and cook, in their white uniforms and cooks hat proudly had a meat thermometer in the holder in their uniform...kind of like a pocket protector used by us “geeks”.
 

JimG

Member
Joined
Aug 10, 2020
Messages
30
Reaction score
37
Points
18
Location
MN
Here is what my SmokeFire and iGrill 2 are showing in a beef roast. The igrill is at 100 (kinda hard to see)
 

Attachments

Latest Discussions

Top