Smokefire software updates

jbrad889

New member
Joined
Feb 16, 2020
Messages
19
Reaction score
8
Points
3
Location
Tacoma, WA
Hey guys. Noobie here. Just received my EX6 today. Did the initial burn in/seasoning and plan to do another extended seasoning tomorrow just to get it broken in. Only got up to 570 after more than an hour. Ambient temp was probably about 39 here in Washington. Noticed the “jet engine” shooting out towards the right side as most everyone else has experienced. My issue I’m hoping to get settled is why my pit won’t connect to my WiFi network. I’ve got a mesh network throughout the house with great signal strength everywhere. My other issue issue is with the software update. The app shows the red exclamation point to update software but doesn’t seem to update after multiple attempts. Do I have the current update? Pictures attached.
 

Attachments

  • A3615BEA-2639-4B21-BC50-2A989AE6221B.png
    A3615BEA-2639-4B21-BC50-2A989AE6221B.png
    628.9 KB · Views: 197
  • BEF6647E-63D8-42C4-A939-7C64592B718D.png
    BEF6647E-63D8-42C4-A939-7C64592B718D.png
    607.9 KB · Views: 139
  • 1B4EF7F6-DEA6-4E3A-A8EC-330D7C38EE3F.png
    1B4EF7F6-DEA6-4E3A-A8EC-330D7C38EE3F.png
    575 KB · Views: 176

VELPO

Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
53
Reaction score
75
Points
18
Location
Simi Valley, CA
I had to shut my grill down. Unpair my grill and my phone. Then repair to get the update settled. I have an Eero mesh network.
 

Mark3rs

New member
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Wisconsin
I am having the same issues with the updating. Unplugged, unpaired and tried different devices. No luck. Other message boards suggest this may be a bad control board.
 

FredSC

Active member
Joined
Feb 15, 2020
Messages
106
Reaction score
148
Points
43
Location
South Carolina
Hey guys. Noobie here. Just received my EX6 today. Did the initial burn in/seasoning and plan to do another extended seasoning tomorrow just to get it broken in. Only got up to 570 after more than an hour. Ambient temp was probably about 39 here in Washington. Noticed the “jet engine” shooting out towards the right side as most everyone else has experienced. My issue I’m hoping to get settled is why my pit won’t connect to my WiFi network. I’ve got a mesh network throughout the house with great signal strength everywhere. My other issue issue is with the software update. The app shows the red exclamation point to update software but doesn’t seem to update after multiple attempts. Do I have the current update? Pictures attached.
It's not going to show in the app, that is the app software version. It should be it doesn't. Look on your grill monitor under about, if my memory is correct, Turn down the knob until you see software version number and firmware version number. Mine are Software version juneOS 1.1 (1372) AND Firmware version 04003.
 

Rickyjk619

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
70
Reaction score
48
Points
18
Location
Kentucky
I spoke to Weber support this morning and they had me send in pictures of my firmware and software versions. It’s found in the menu on the grill. My versions are the same that you listed. They also had me take pictures of the burn pot. They said they would research it and get back with. It’s frustrating but it’s Weber so I am sure they will get it squared away.
 

abmet

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
1,201
Reaction score
1,403
Points
113
Location
Missouri
It's not going to show in the app, that is the app software version. It should be it doesn't. Look on your grill monitor under about, if my memory is correct, Turn down the knob until you see software version number and firmware version number. Mine are Software version juneOS 1.1 (1372) AND Firmware version 04003.
That's the versions mine went to after it updated (was version 1.0 when I first powered on). You have to power off the grill and turn back on for it to complete after it finishes in the app. I continued to get a message that there was an update need and it would go to verifying then back to the screen saying it needed an update. There was an iPhone app update that came out that said was to address SmokeFire software updates. after updating my app and force closing it and restarting these message went away.
 

Rickyjk619

Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2020
Messages
70
Reaction score
48
Points
18
Location
Kentucky
Well I did a reinstall of the glow plug this evening as recommended by a good fella on line. Well I must say it worked. Took care of the issues I was having with my Smokefire. Made better contact with the glow plug and it worked perfectly. I bent the contact more and then forced the glow plug in further than originally done. It worked great. Good luck and happy smoking!!!
 
Last edited:

Mark3rs

New member
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
3
Reaction score
6
Points
3
Location
Wisconsin
I performed the hard reset (press 3 buttons and turn on/off) and that fixed my update issue.
 

UGator

Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2020
Messages
31
Reaction score
47
Points
18
Location
Johns Creek, GA
Question for those using a mesh network: Has anyone noticed that the app doesn't connect to the SF when you are on a different router? To clarify, when I am in my basement, I connect to my home network via the mesh router that is closest to me (in the basement) but the SF is connected to the same network via a different router - in this scenario, I am unable to see the current status...
 

ktskas

Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
48
Reaction score
78
Points
18
Location
San Antonio, TX
I have Google wifi which is a mesh and have no problems in the house.
However when I cannot connect when I leave the house.
I am trying to figure out what port(s) it is using to see if I can set up port forwarding.
 

VELPO

Member
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
53
Reaction score
75
Points
18
Location
Simi Valley, CA
Question for those using a mesh network: Has anyone noticed that the app doesn't connect to the SF when you are on a different router? To clarify, when I am in my basement, I connect to my home network via the mesh router that is closest to me (in the basement) but the SF is connected to the same network via a different router - in this scenario, I am unable to see the current status...

I have Eero and have no problems at all. Inside and outside of my house.
 

CEd4jets

Active member
Joined
Feb 14, 2020
Messages
128
Reaction score
124
Points
43
Location
So FL
I performed the hard reset (press 3 buttons and turn on/off) and that fixed my update issue.
So did you hold the thee buttons in with the grill off then turn on/off? Had not heard about this.
 

Latest Discussions

Top