First Flame out

bbqking

Well-known member
2x SOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 2, 2020
Messages
703
Reaction score
1,124
Points
93
Location
Phoenix,Az
Grill
EX6, 2, 22” kettles, and a e310 gasser
Hot diggity logs!! Well it got up to temp. Went to put the food on and it wasn’t flaming like usual, didn’t have any normal sounds. The blower, flames. I was like whatever. Put the food in came inside, like 20 minutes later E3 flame out! Went out it was already shut down turned power off, vacuumed it out. Restarted it. Seems good so far!! Fingers crossed.
 

Attachments

  • EBD241EA-05F6-4488-A1CC-3C21BCB9400B.jpeg
    EBD241EA-05F6-4488-A1CC-3C21BCB9400B.jpeg
    868.7 KB · Views: 57
OP
bbqking

bbqking

Well-known member
2x SOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 2, 2020
Messages
703
Reaction score
1,124
Points
93
Location
Phoenix,Az
Grill
EX6, 2, 22” kettles, and a e310 gasser
Nope...no idea...it’s going strong now. Maybe the glow plug was dirty? I made sure I vacuumed everything out really good. Might be the pellets, I bought pit boss competition blend and some of them look really long...
 

Deckwalker

New member
Joined
Oct 13, 2020
Messages
12
Reaction score
23
Points
3
Location
Colorado Springs
Grill
EX4
I had the same thing happen on Sunday. I have been using Lumberjack pellets with no problem. However I had one bag that was chock full of dust. I didn't have anything else so I went ahead with it. The flame out came toward the end of the bag. I'm guessing it was the excess sawdust. I vacuumed it all up really well, restarted (adding new pellets that weren't full of dust) and no problems.

I have an EX4 version 1 and have had very few problems (a couple no starts, once the smokeboost turned into flame boost (!!), and now this flame out.) Any idea what I need to do to get Weber to send me backup glow plugs and the other version 2 things?
 

Attachments

  • pellets.jpg
    pellets.jpg
    501.6 KB · Views: 22

JpsBBQ

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
801
Reaction score
1,374
Points
93
Location
United States
I had the same thing happen on Sunday. I have been using Lumberjack pellets with no problem. However I had one bag that was chock full of dust. I didn't have anything else so I went ahead with it. The flame out came toward the end of the bag. I'm guessing it was the excess sawdust. I vacuumed it all up really well, restarted (adding new pellets that weren't full of dust) and no problems.

I have an EX4 version 1 and have had very few problems (a couple no starts, once the smokeboost turned into flame boost (!!), and now this flame out.) Any idea what I need to do to get Weber to send me backup glow plugs and the other version 2 things?
All you can do is call customer service and ask for the items desired. Explain any and all issues you’ve encountered.
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
622
Reaction score
791
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Grill
Smokefire EX4; Summit 670; Bullet Smoker 22”; Q100
I had the same thing happen on Sunday. I have been using Lumberjack pellets with no problem. However I had one bag that was chock full of dust. I didn't have anything else so I went ahead with it. The flame out came toward the end of the bag. I'm guessing it was the excess sawdust. I vacuumed it all up really well, restarted (adding new pellets that weren't full of dust) and no problems.

I have an EX4 version 1 and have had very few problems (a couple no starts, once the smokeboost turned into flame boost (!!), and now this flame out.) Any idea what I need to do to get Weber to send me backup glow plugs and the other version 2 things?
Should be no problem assuming your unit is registered with Weber. I simply went to the Support section of their site, filled out the information about my grill and explained about my issue ( I had a bad felt seal on the old two-piece auger and asked for a spare glow plug) received an email response later that day and parts were shipped the following day.
 

AHoneyman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
426
Reaction score
601
Points
93
Location
Dallas
have used my Gen 1 smoke fire a ton and never had an issue.
Last two times I used it, had flame out and same issue with pellets everywhere.
What was the ambient temp?
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
622
Reaction score
791
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Grill
Smokefire EX4; Summit 670; Bullet Smoker 22”; Q100
My ex4 performed flawlessly today, even during an attempted software update that made it difficult to change the temperature remotely, but worked as usual at the unit. Split chicken halves came out great.

Can’t wait to see what the latest update brings....🤓😜🤪🙏
 

AHoneyman

Well-known member
Joined
Apr 14, 2020
Messages
426
Reaction score
601
Points
93
Location
Dallas
It seems like some of us are have problems as the temps get cooler (40 and below).
 

abmet

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
997
Reaction score
1,086
Points
93
Location
Missouri
I‘ve used mine under 40 last 3 times and fortunately no issues. Hope this isn’t widespread issue. Sorry for those experiencing it.
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
622
Reaction score
791
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Grill
Smokefire EX4; Summit 670; Bullet Smoker 22”; Q100
I‘ve used mine under 40 last 3 times and fortunately no issues. Hope this isn’t widespread issue. Sorry for those experiencing it.
Ran mine in SmokeBoost for 4 hours yesterday in 28-34 degree weather with no issues.
 

Old Man Grills

Active member
Joined
Jul 27, 2020
Messages
67
Reaction score
121
Points
33
Location
UK
Grill
SmokeFire EX6
Interesting when I had my flame out in UK it was around 45-50 degrees outside.
 

Latest Discussions

Top