Electric connection issues

tippersjersey

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
14
Points
3
Location
Jersey Channel Islands
Grill
Smokefire 4
Hi All
I have a EX4 which i purchased this summer, few issues, replaced glow plug once, several resets and lots of burn outs but when it works i love it.
The issue is I prep'd 2 racks of pork ribs to cook today. Went to switch on the smokefire and its switched on but then the screen started flashing on and off like there was a loose connection, its not just on the screen as when the unit comes back on it says it has to follow shut down ,then a few seconds later flashes off and on again. I have tried different plugs, different power cable etc so definitely the unit. I have also checked all connections etc and cables behind the control unit but couldn't identify any loose connections. Any ideas please.
ps i will contact weber on monday but as I live on Jersey in the Channel Islands takes a whiles to get postage here.
Cheers
Tim
 

JpsBBQ

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
807
Reaction score
1,378
Points
93
Location
United States
It might be going through a reboot. Did you leave it alone for a few minutes?
 
OP
T

tippersjersey

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
14
Points
3
Location
Jersey Channel Islands
Grill
Smokefire 4
Hi JpsBBQ
thanks for the response. left if for a while, doesnt feel like a reboot as it drops out of power every few seconds and then startsfrom scratch again
 

JpsBBQ

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
807
Reaction score
1,378
Points
93
Location
United States
Sounds like you’d better contact customer service. Wish I had an answer. Good luck.
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
623
Reaction score
792
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Grill
Smokefire EX4; Summit 670; Bullet Smoker 22”; Q100
Have you tried running it through the recovery mode via a controller reset? It sounds like your unit is stuck in a “do loop”

Instructions are on-line and on the Weber.com site? Essentially it is a factory reset which is performed by holding down the three buttons on the side while turning off the power switch and then powering it back on. After that your will probably need to reinstall the firmware and software.

If that does not work you probably have a bad control board as it is not going through its power in test sequence.
 

abmet

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
1,003
Reaction score
1,094
Points
113
Location
Missouri
I’d try the factory reset like Dassman5 suggested, if that doens’t fix it prob will take Weber customer service to get you replacement parts.
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
623
Reaction score
792
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Grill
Smokefire EX4; Summit 670; Bullet Smoker 22”; Q100
thanks for suggestion, tried factory reset but the unit doesnt stay on log enough without flashing off and on
Sounds like a bad control board. Hopefully a Weber support tech can quickly diagnose the problem.
 
OP
T

tippersjersey

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
14
Points
3
Location
Jersey Channel Islands
Grill
Smokefire 4
Hi, thanks for the responses
I spoke to Weber support in the UK, the chaps name was Tab, i have spoken to him previously and he is excellent.
He asked me to check if the green lights were light on the control board and following some discussion it appears that its the control unit. He also offered to send the complete wiring loom for the control panel in case it was that. Should take a week or so to get to me and will update you then on how i get on
kind regards
Tim
 

Bruno

Well-known member
2x SOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
1,032
Reaction score
1,861
Points
113
Location
Bay Area
Hi, thanks for the responses
I spoke to Weber support in the UK, the chaps name was Tab, i have spoken to him previously and he is excellent.
He asked me to check if the green lights were light on the control board and following some discussion it appears that its the control unit. He also offered to send the complete wiring loom for the control panel in case it was that. Should take a week or so to get to me and will update you then on how i get on
kind regards
Tim
❤️ Weber customer service.
 

abmet

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
1,003
Reaction score
1,094
Points
113
Location
Missouri
Hi, thanks for the responses
I spoke to Weber support in the UK, the chaps name was Tab, i have spoken to him previously and he is excellent.
He asked me to check if the green lights were light on the control board and following some discussion it appears that its the control unit. He also offered to send the complete wiring loom for the control panel in case it was that. Should take a week or so to get to me and will update you then on how i get on
kind regards
Tim
Hope that solves it!
 
OP
T

tippersjersey

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
14
Points
3
Location
Jersey Channel Islands
Grill
Smokefire 4
Hi All,
Received the new controller and cable last night. installed and the EX seems to be working fine control unit now. Did a couple of test heat ups at different temps and unfortunately had a heat drop on one, gave the pellets a jiggle and heat cam up again so ongoing bridging issue i have had previously. At least its working now though.
Also nice surprise, Weber sent a complimentary bag of pellets with the controller which was a very nice gesture.
 

JpsBBQ

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
807
Reaction score
1,378
Points
93
Location
United States
Hi All,
Received the new controller and cable last night. installed and the EX seems to be working fine control unit now. Did a couple of test heat ups at different temps and unfortunately had a heat drop on one, gave the pellets a jiggle and heat cam up again so ongoing bridging issue i have had previously. At least its working now though.
Also nice surprise, Weber sent a complimentary bag of pellets with the controller which was a very nice gesture.
If you have not removed the wire guard above the chute, please do so. Also the new welded chute is a straighter version and also helps eliminate any issues. I also concluded I have better results using the Weber pellets as they are a smaller diameter than some of the other brands. I have no bridging issues since doing these simple things. Good luck.
 
OP
T

tippersjersey

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
14
Points
3
Location
Jersey Channel Islands
Grill
Smokefire 4
Thanks JPSBBQ
I have already removed the wire guard and am using weber pellets. I am not sure which chute i have however. I bought the EX in august this year and it had the updated ramp in the pellet silo but not sure on the chute. Is their any way of telling if i have the new welded one or not?
 

JpsBBQ

Well-known member
Joined
May 17, 2020
Messages
807
Reaction score
1,378
Points
93
Location
United States
Thanks JPSBBQ
I have already removed the wire guard and am using weber pellets. I am not sure which chute i have however. I bought the EX in august this year and it had the updated ramp in the pellet silo but not sure on the chute. Is their any way of telling if i have the new welded one or not?
If it’s a gen 1 and you didn’t replace it yourself I think it’s the old one. Gen 2 should be installed for you.
 
OP
T

tippersjersey

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
14
Points
3
Location
Jersey Channel Islands
Grill
Smokefire 4
Update: i have spoken to Weber UK again and as alway they were very helpful. The UK GEN 1 units have the hopper ramp revision installed but not the welded chute. They are sending me the chute in the post which i hope will resolve the situation.
 

abmet

Well-known member
SOTM Winner
Joined
Feb 11, 2020
Messages
1,003
Reaction score
1,094
Points
113
Location
Missouri
Good deal, with the welded chute and wire guard removed I have not had any pellet issues.
 
OP
T

tippersjersey

New member
Joined
Nov 15, 2020
Messages
11
Reaction score
14
Points
3
Location
Jersey Channel Islands
Grill
Smokefire 4
hi all, ne chute in mail so should be with me this week, however pepared some bacon on the smokefire this evening and near the end i got a "not connected " message on the phone app so went to look at the unit and it was dead. no power and blank screen. Tried using an alternate plug and power socket but nothing except for about a half second flash of light on the controller. looks like I'll be back in touch with weber in the morning
 

Dassman5

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 4, 2020
Messages
623
Reaction score
792
Points
93
Location
East Aurora, NY
Grill
Smokefire EX4; Summit 670; Bullet Smoker 22”; Q100
hi all, ne chute in mail so should be with me this week, however pepared some bacon on the smokefire this evening and near the end i got a "not connected " message on the phone app so went to look at the unit and it was dead. no power and blank screen. Tried using an alternate plug and power socket but nothing except for about a half second flash of light on the controller. looks like I'll be back in touch with weber in the morning
You probably blew the fuse that is next to where the the power plug connects on the unit. Lots of information here about it and how to access and change. Just be aware that it is a ceramic fast blow fuse. It’s designation is F1.6A 250v and its size, or model # is 5x20mm or 3/16” x 3/4”. Do not replace with any other fuse.

they are readily available onAmazon or larger truck supply and electronic supply companies.
 

Bruno

Well-known member
2x SOTM Winner
Joined
Mar 27, 2020
Messages
1,032
Reaction score
1,861
Points
113
Location
Bay Area
You probably blew the fuse that is next to where the the power plug connects on the unit. Lots of information here about it and how to access and change. Just be aware that it is a ceramic fast blow fuse. It’s designation is F1.6A 250v and its size, or model # is 5x20mm or 3/16” x 3/4”. Do not replace with any other fuse.

they are readily available onAmazon or larger truck supply and electronic supply companies.
Can you post a link on Amazon please. Thanks
 

Latest Discussions

Top